Geraldine L. Richmond

http://richmondscience.uoregon.edu

Geraldine Richmond currently serves as the Presidential Chair in Science and Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oregon. Bridging the fields of chemistry and physics, Richmond's research focusses on understanding the molecular characteristics of water surfaces, studies that have relevance to environmental issues such as oil remediation, atmospheric chemistry and alternative energy



sources. Her teaching and extensive outreach efforts have focused on science communication and building a strong and inclusive workforce. Richmond is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She is the Founding Director of <u>COACh</u>, a grass-roots organization that has helped over 25,000 women scientists and engineers in career advancement in the U.S. and over two dozen developing countries over the past 20 years.

A native of Kansas, Richmond received her B.S. in chemistry from Kansas State University in 1975 and her Ph.D. in physical chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley in 1980 with Prof. George Pimentel. Her first faculty academic appointment was at Bryn Mawr College as an assistant professor from 1980-1985. That was followed by her faculty appointment in the chemistry department at the University of Oregon where she has taught many courses and continued her research with undergraduates, graduate students and postdoctoral associates for the past 35 years.

Richmond has received numerous honors and awards for her research and outreach efforts including the National Medal of Science from President Obama (2016), the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring from President Clinton (1997) and the Presidential Young Investigator Award from President Reagan (1985). In 2018 she was awarded the Priestley Medal, the highest honor bestowed by the American Chemical Society. Additional honors include the 2020 Dickson Prize from Carnegie Mellon University, the Linus Pauling Legacy Award (2019), the Davisson-Germer Prize for Atomic and Surface Physics from the American Physical Society (2013), the Joel H. Hildebrand Award in the Theoretical and Experimental Studies of Liquids from the ACS (2011), the Bomen-Michaelson Award (2008) the Speirs Medal from the Royal Society of Chemistry (2004) and the Olin-Garvan Medal from the ACS in 1996. Awards for her education, outreach and science capacity building efforts include the ACS Charles L. Parsons Award for Outstanding Public Service (2013) and the ACS Award for Encouraging Women in the Chemical Sciences (2005). She has given over 100 distinguished lectureships and addresses since 2000.