## Geraldine L. Richmond

Geraldine (Geri) Richmond is the Presidential Chair in Science and Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oregon. Her research using laser spectroscopy and computational methods focusses on understanding environmentally and technologically important processes that occur at liquid surfaces. A native of Kansas, Richmond received her B.S. in Chemistry from Kansas State University in 1976 and her Ph.D. in physical chemistry under the direction of George Pimentel at the University of California, Berkeley in 1980. After her first faculty appointment as assistant



professor at Bryn Mawr College she moved to the University of Oregon where she has been since 1985.

Richmond is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the American Physical Society (APS), the Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Association for Women in Science. She has served in leadership roles on many international, national and state governing and advisory boards. She is currently serving as a member of the National Science Board, as the U.S. Science Envoy to the Lower Mekong River Countries of Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Burma and Thailand and Secretary of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Richmond recently finished her term as president and chair of the Board of AAAS and will assume the presidency of Sigma Xi, the honorary scientific society in 2019. Richmond is the founding and current director of COACh a grass-roots organization formed in 1998 that has helped over 20,000 women scientists and engineers in career advancement in the U.S. and countries in Asia, Africa and Latin America.

Awards for her scientific accomplishments include the 2018 Priestley Medal from the American Chemical Society (ACS), the National Medal of Science (2013), the Davisson-Germer Prize for Atomic and Surface Physics from the American Physical Society (2013), the Joel H. Hildebrand Award in the Theoretical and Experimental Studies of Liquids from the ACS (2011), the Bomen-Michaelson Award (2008) the Speirs Medal from the Royal Society of Chemistry (2004) and the Olin-Garvan Medal from the ACS in 1996. Awards for her education, outreach and science capacity building efforts include the ACS Charles L. Parsons Award for Outstanding Public Service (2013), the ACS Award for Encouraging Women in the Chemical Sciences (2005), and the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (1997).

Website: <a href="http://richmondscience.uoregon.edu">http://richmondscience.uoregon.edu</a>