## Geraldine L. Richmond

http://richmondscience.uoregon.edu

Geraldine (Geri) Richmond is the Presidential Chair in Science and Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oregon. Her research using laser-based methods and theoretical computational studies focusses on understanding environmentally and technologically important processes that occur at liquid surfaces, with a particular focus on aqueous surfaces. A native of Kansas,



Richmond received her B.S. in Chemistry from Kansas State University in 1976 and her Ph.D. in physical chemistry under the direction of George Pimentel at the University of California, Berkeley in 1980. After her first faculty appointment as assistant professor at Bryn Mawr College she moved to the University of Oregon where she has been since 1985.

Richmond is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the American Physical Society (APS), the Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Association for Women in Science (AWIS). A popular speaker on her scientific research, science education and workforce issues, she has given many distingished lectures and plenary addresses both domestically and internationally. She has served in leadership roles on many international, national and state governing and advisory boards. She is currently serving as a presidential appointee to the National Science Board, as Secretary to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is a U.S. State Department Science Envoy to the Lower Mekong River Countries of Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Burma and Thailand. Richmond recently finished her term as president and chair of the Board of AAAS and as president of Sigma Xi, the Honorary Scientific Research Society. Richmond is the founding and current director of COACh a grass-roots organization formed in 1998 that has helped over 24,000 women scientists and engineers in career advancement in the U.S. and over two dozen developing countries in Asia, Africa and Latin America.

Awards for her scientific accomplishments include the 2020 Dickson Prize from Carnegie Mellon, the 2018 Priestley Medal, the highest honor of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the National Medal of Science (2016), the Linus Pauling Legacy Award (2019), the Davisson-Germer Prize for Atomic and Surface Physics from the American Physical Society (2013), the Joel H. Hildebrand Award in the Theoretical and Experimental Studies of Liquids from the ACS (2011), the Bomen-Michaelson Award (2008) the Speirs Medal from the Royal Society of Chemistry (2004) and the Olin-Garvan Medal from the ACS in 1996. Awards for her education, outreach and science capacity building efforts include the ACS Charles L. Parsons Award for Outstanding Public Service (2013), the ACS Award for Encouraging Women in the Chemical Sciences (2005), and the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (1997).